The Order of Mariposa

In 1986, the Stephen Leacock Associates awarded its first Order of Mariposa to actress Barbara Hamilton at a luncheon hosted at the McGill Club of Toronto. This award, designed to recognize contributions to Canadian humour in a form other than the written word, is presented approximately every two years. Winners include Lynn Johnston, Duncan MacPherson, Pierre Berton, Ben Wicks, Dave Broadfoot and Don Herron.

The physical award consists of a framed personal portrait by renowned caricaturist Isaac Bickerstaff (aka Don Evans) identifying the recipient as a most Honoured Member of the Order of Mariposa.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s