2014 winner: Bill Conall

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Bill Conall wins 2014 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour

Orillia, ON — The Promised Land: A Novel of Cape Breton, Bill Conall’s hilarious tale of hippies journeying to Cape Breton in the 1970s, has earned the East Coast author the 2014 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour and a $15,000 cash prize.

The Stephen Leacock Associates, who award the medal annually, made the announcement today at the Best Western Mariposa Inn and Conference Centre in Orillia, Ontario, in front of an audience of authors, publishing industry representatives and media.

Conall’s sophomore novel was chosen by a panel of national judges as well as a committee of local readers.

Also on the shortlist for this year’s award were, listed alphabetically, Arthur Black’s Fifty Shades of Black, Jane Christmas’s And Then There Were Nuns: Adventures in a Cloistered Life, Wayne Johnston’s The Son of a Certain Woman and Steve Smith’s Red Green’s Beginner’s Guide to Women.

Last year, Saskatchewan author Cassie Stocks won the medal for her first novel, Dance, Gladys, Dance.

The Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour has been awarded since 1947 to honour the dean of Canadian humourists and to perpetuate comedic writing in Canada. Some of our finest writers — Pierre Berton, W.O. Mitchell, Mordecai Richler and Robertson Davies — have been recipients of the award over the past six decades. In addition to winning the silver medal, the winner receives a $15,000 cash prize, courtesy of TD Bank Financial Group, which will be presented at the annual Leacock Medal gala dinner to be held June 7, 2014, at Geneva Park, just outside of Orillia.


For information, contact:
Mike Hill
President, Stephen Leacock Associates