2013 Shortlist

The books shortlisted for the 2013 Leacock Medal for humour writing, in alphabetical order:

* Up and Down – Terry Fallis

* Jonathan Goldstein – I’ll Seize the Day Tomorrow

* Andrew Kaufman – Born Weird

* Cassie Stocks – Dance, Gladys, Dance

* William Whitehead – Words to Live By


Media Release — April 1, 2013

Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour Shortlist Announced

Orillia, ON: The Stephen Leacock Associates is proud to announce this year’s shortlisted candidates for its annual Leacock Memorial Medal. In the running are 2008 winner Terry Fallis for Up and Down; Jonathan Goldstein for I’ll Seize the Day Tomorrow; Andrew Kaufman for Born Weird; Cassie Stocks for Dance, Gladys, Dance; and William Whitehead for Words to Live By.

The Leacock Medal is awarded for “the best book of humour written in the previous year by a Canadian.” It has been awarded since 1947 and winners have included Pierre Berton, Robertson Davies, W.O. Mitchell, Mordecai Richler, Stuart McLean and Will Ferguson.

Over 60 books were submitted for consideration. A panel of five anonymous judges from across Canada, along with a group of local readers in Orillia, Ontario — Leacock’s summer home and the setting for his fictional Mariposa in Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town — evaluated the entries and nominated the five books for the shortlist.

The winner will be revealed at the Announcement Luncheon on April 25 at the Mariposa Inn in Orillia. The author of the winning book will then be feted at the annual Leacock Medal gala dinner at Geneva Park on June 8. The chief sponsor of the medal, TD Financial Group, provides the winning author with a $15,000 cheque. Each runner-up also receives a cash prize.

For further information, contact Todd Stubbs, Vice-President of the Leacock Associates, at 705 728-0149.