2016 long list

The top 10 books in contention for the 2016 Leacock Medal are listed alphabetically by author. The shortlist of three will be announced Friday, May 6. [Important dates]


Cox, J. David   OUR LIFE OFF THE GRID: OTG Publishing


DeWitt, Patrick   UNDER MAJOR DOMO MINOR: Anansi Press

Drake, Aaron Cully   DO YOU THINK THIS IS STRANGE: Brindle & Glass

Fallis, Terry   POLES APART: McClelland and Stewart

Juby, Susan   THE REPUBLIC OF DIRT: Harper Collins

Kaladeen, Stephen MD   THE SECRET LIFE OF DOCTORS: CreateSpace Publishing

McLean, Stuart   VINYL CAFE TURNS THE PAGE: Penguin Random House

Mian, Sarah   WHEN THE SAINTS: Harper Collins

Naves, Elaine Kalman   THE BOOK OF FAITH: Linda Leith Publishing

2015 AGM

Everyone is welcome to attend our annual general meeting:
— Sunday, November 1, 2:30 p.m.
Swanmore Hall, Stephen Leacock Museum in Orillia

Leacock Medal weekend expanded



Leacock Medal Weekend Bigger Than Ever
Meet and Greet 2015 Winner, Terry Fallis


Canada’s Annual Celebration of the Best Book of Humour

(Orillia – May 12) Each year, on the first weekend in June, the author of the best book of Canadian humour receives the prestigious Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour at a gala awards presentation held at Geneva Park.

But if it seems like there is a lot more buzz this year around Canada’s annual salute to the best book of humour, it’s because there is.

“It’s always been the social event of the season for those of us who live and breathe Stephen Leacock,” said Leacock Associates president Mike Hill, “and so, working with the museum, we thought we’d open it up a bit and provide more opportunities for Mariposans, Leacock fans and anyone who enjoys good humour to meet our medal winner.”

The Leacock Medal Weekend gets underway on Friday, June 5 with a meet-and-greet Spaghetti Dinner at the Leacock Café, where Leacock Medal winner Terry Fallis is guest of honour. At 8 pm everyone moves across the parking lot to Leacock House for dessert and the annual Soiree and Student Writing Awards.

On Saturday, June 6, the Orillia Public Library salutes Terry with a reading and reception at 1:30 pm. Complimentary cake will be provided by Mariposa Market.

At 5 pm everyone gathers, dressed in their summer finest, at Geneva Park for the Gala Awards Presentation where Terry will receive his custom-engraved Leacock Medal, designed in 1947 by the legendary Canadian sculptor Emmanuel Hahn, along with a cheque for $15,000, generously supported by the TD Financial Group.

The weekend festivities wrap up on Sunday morning with a farewell Pancake Breakfast back at the Leacock Café.

“The Leacock Medal provides a link with contemporary culture that is truly unique in the museum field,” said Leacock Museum curator Fred Addis. “We get more readers coming to Leacock’s historic house after hearing about the Leacock Medal and its winning author.”

Tickets for the spaghetti dinner, gala award presentation dinner and the pancake breakfast are available separately or can be purchased as a package for the entire weekend’s program. For tickets and information, call the Leacock Museum at 705-329-1908. Friday night’s Leacock Soiree and the Saturday Orillia Public Library reading are free events.

Visit leacockmuseum.com or leacock.ca for more details.

— 30 —

Media Contacts:

Leacock Museum – Fred Addis, Curator                             705-329-1908 x 803

Leacock Associates, Bette Walker, Board Member            705-326-9286

Gala dinner details

Come help us celebrate Terry Fallis and his second Leacock Medal-winning book, No Relation.

Terry will receive the prized silver Leacock Medal for Humour and a $15,000 cheque, courtesy the TD Financial Group, on Saturday, June 6, at Geneva Park and Conference Centre near Orillia.

Cocktails start at 5 and a lavish dinner is served at 6 with speeches and presentations to follow.

Tickets are $60 for members, $65 for non-members. Tickets are available through the Leacock Museum. Call 705-329-1908 (ext. 801), email jennymartynyshyn@rogers.com or fill out their contact form online.


2015 Leacock Medal winner

Terry Fallis returns to the winner’s podium

Terry Fallis has again won the Leacock Medal for Humour and TD Financial Group’s $15,000 cash prize for his book No Relation. He won it in 2008 and was shortlisted in 2011 and 2013.

The medal and a cheque will be presented at the gala dinner Saturday, June 6, to be held at Geneva Park and Conference Centre near Orillia.

Tickets are $60 for members, $65 for non-members. Tickets are available through the Leacock Museum. Call 705-329-1908 (ext. 801), email jennymartynyshyn@rogers.com or fill out their contact form online.