2016 AGM

The Leacock Associates will hold their annual general meeting Thursday, November 24, 2016.
The Orillia-based nonprofit organization, which awards the annual Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour – Canada’s only national award for literary humour writing – will hold the public portion of its meeting at 8 p.m. at 149 Peter St. N., Orillia, Ontario.

And the 2016 winner is…


Juby    JubyAuthorPic

Susan Juby takes home the 2016 Leacock Medal for humour writing for her novel Republic of Dirt. The medal and the accompanying $15,000 prize were awarded June 11, 2016, at our gala dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre near Orillia, Ontario. The dinner celebrated all three shortlisted authors. Our hats off to runners-up Terry Fallis for Poles Apart and Sarah Mian for When the Saints, and our warmest congratulations to Susan!

Student winners, 2016

The top three winners of the student humour writing contest have been announced:

1st place * Joe Zador for “From the Journals of Allen I. Greenwald: The Deli Incident” (Glebe Collegiate Institute, Ottawa)

2nd place * Ben Wrixon for “Orange to the Thigh” (Aldershot High School, Burlington, Ontario)

3rd place * Hannah Lobbezoo for “The Peculiar Third Floor of Woodbridge Retirement Home” (College Avenue Secondary School, Woodstock, Ontario)

Congratulations to all!

Help us celebrate these up-and-coming humorists at our Friday-night soiree.

2016 Shortlist

Terry Fallis for Poles Apart, published by McClelland and Stewart.

Susan Juby for Republic of Dirt, published by Harper Collins.

Sarah Mian for When The Saints, published by Harper Collins.

The winner of the 2016 Leacock Medal and the accompanying $15,000 prize will be announced June 11 at our gala dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre, near Orillia, Ontario. Gala details to follow.