Our evolution

The Stephen Leacock Associates was founded in 1946 and began awarding the Leacock Medal for Humour in 1947. The number of entries has continually grown — 73 books were put forward by publishers and writers for 2015. An anonymous panel of judges, appointed from across Canada by the Associates’ board of directors, vets all entries and selects both the short list and the final winner.

The short list of five books has typically been announced each April 1st, the winning book announced at the end of April at a luncheon, and the Leacock Memorial medal and a cash award of $15,000 presented to the winner in June at the Leacock gala dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre in Orillia, Ontario.

In 2015, the Leacock Associates added a long list announcement.

With the 2016 competition, the announcement format evolves again. The long list of ten finalists continues as part of the new tradition, and the short list is trimmed to three books from five. The entry deadline has been moved ahead to December 31, and the announcements of the long list and short list are moving along as well. Check out our important dates.

The most significant change is that the winner of the Leacock Medal and $15,000 cash prize from TD Financial Group will be announced and awarded at the Leacock gala dinner. This year the dinner will be held on Saturday, June 11, again at Geneva Park Conference Centre.

Important 2016 dates