Gary Barwin wins 2017 Leacock Medal

Gary Barwin, of Hamilton, Ontario, has won this year’s Stephen Leacock Medal for Canadian Humour and $15,000 prize for his acclaimed book, Yiddish for Pirates, published by Random House Canada.

The winner was announced by Nathan Taylor, president of awarding body the Stephen Leacock Associates, in front of an audience of around 190 at a 70th-anniversary gala dinner award ceremony near Orillia, Ontario.

Barwin’s family was there to see him receive the prestigious Medal. He becomes the 69th winner in the history of the long-running award because there was no winner in 1959.

Gary Barwin pic
Photo credit Adela Talbot.

Both other finalists, Amy Jones for We’re All in This Together, McClelland & Stewart, and Drew Hayden Taylor for Take Us to Your Chief And Other Stories, Douglas & McIntyre, received cash awards for achieving the shortlist.

A Canada-wide panel of readers and judges had narrowed 68 initial submissions to a form a longlist of 11 highly recommended works, with only three books eventually forming the shortlist.

Gary Barwin Yiddish for Pirates

More details to follow.

2017 shortlist announced

The Board of Directors of the Leacock Associates has announced its shortlist for the 2017 Anniversary Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour award. The top three picks have been narrowed down from a longlist of 11 out of a field of 68 entries:

In alphabetical order by author surname:





The final winner, who also receives a $15,000 prize supported by TD Bank Financial Group, is to be announced on Saturday, June 10, 2017, at a gala award dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre, just outside Orillia, Ontario. The gala dinner is open to the public, and limited tickets are available exclusively through the Stephen Leacock Museum in Orillia. See you there!

For more details:


Announcing 2017 Leacock Medal longlist

The longlist for the 2017 Leacock Medal (in alphabetical order by author surname) is:

There are 11 instead of 10 because two of the books tied in the judges’ marks.

This year’s longlist will be narrowed down to a shortlist of three Leacock Medal finalists, who will be announced in Orillia on Wednesday, May 3, 2017.

The winner of the Leacock Medal and accompanying $15,000 prize will be announced at a gala dinner celebrating all three shortlisted authors June 10, 2017, at Geneva Park Conference Centre near Orillia, Ontario.

2016 AGM

The Leacock Associates will hold their annual general meeting Thursday, November 24, 2016.
The Orillia-based nonprofit organization, which awards the annual Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour – Canada’s only national award for literary humour writing – will hold the public portion of its meeting at 8 p.m. at 149 Peter St. N., Orillia, Ontario.