Winner of Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour to be chosen June 11

Friday, May 6, 2016 – Orillia, Ontario — Today Leacock Associates released the shortlist of finalists in the running for the annual Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour. The medal is one of Canada’s oldest and most prestigious literary awards and the only national award for humour writing. For the first time in the medal’s history, the shortlist features three authors, rather than five.

The 2016 finalists are as follows:

Terry Fallis – Poles Apart, published by McClelland and Stewart.
Terry is a two-time Leacock award-winner and author of four national bestsellers. His fifth novel, Poles Apart, is a humorous novel about ‘how things are never as they seem.’ Hilarious and smart, and offering thoughtful commentary on a subject that is flooding our headlines, newsfeeds, Twitter feeds and society, Poles Apart is Terry Fallis at his best, confirming his status as a king of CanLit comedy.

Susan Juby – Republic of Dirt, published by Harper Collins.
Susan is the author of the critically acclaimed novels Getting the Girl and Another Kind of Cowboy, as well as the bestselling Alice series. Her previous book for adults, The Woefield Poultry Collective, was also shortlisted for the Leacock Medal for Humour. Told in four highly distinct, unforgettably hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking voices, Republic of Dirt is about what happens when passions collide with pride and what it takes to save each other, our small part of the planet and ourselves. 

Sarah Mian – When The Saints, published by Harper Collins.
Sarah hails from Queensland, Nova Scotia, and her award-winning fiction and poetry have been published in a variety of Canadian journals and magazines, such as The New Quarterly, The Antigonish Review, subTerrain, The Vagrant Revue of New Fiction and Flare. She is a regular storyteller on CBC Radio`s Definitely Not the Opera and has performed theatrical roles in Cover of Life and The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. When the Saints is her first novel and is the story of a clan of outsiders whose redemption might be found in what they longed to escape: each other.

The final winner of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour and the accompanying $15,000 prize will be announced at a gala dinner on Saturday, June 11, 2016 at the Geneva Park Convention Centre, just outside Orillia.

This is the first time the winning author will not be revealed in advance of the gala.

“We are thrilled with this year’s shortlist,” said Nathan Taylor, president of Leacock Associates. “It is always a difficult task to narrow the list, and this year was certainly no exception. We look forward to the gala and introducing Canada to the next Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour recipient.”

For more information on the Leacock Associates and the June 11 gala, please watch this website, friend us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter at @LeacockMedal.


– 30 –



Lauren Wasley
Carlaw Communications