2015 winner to be announced April 30

The winner of the Leacock Medal for Humour and the $15,000 TD Financial Group prize will be announced April 30 at a luncheon celebrating the top five authors as determined by an independent judging panel. It will be held in Orillia, Ontario, at the Best Western Mariposa Inn, Hermitage Room, from 11:30 to 1:30 p.m.

Tickets sell fast for this humour-filled event, popular with Stephen Leacock fans, enthusiastic readers of Canadian literary humour and others connected to the publishing industry.

Tickets are $26 for members, $30 for non-members, and are available from Donnajean Jefferies at 705-325-1757 or email leacocklunch@gmail.com.

The luncheon will be attended by the shortlisted authors — Aaron Bushkowsky (Curtains for Roy), Alan Doyle (Where I Belong), Terry Fallis (No Relation), Zarqa Nawaz (Laughing All the Way to the Mosque), Robert Wringham (A Loose Egg) — or their representatives, as well as local dignitaries.