2018 Student Competition


FIRST PRIZE – $1,000

Important Dates

April 15, 2018: Deadline for submissions.

May 15, 2018: Announcement of winners

June 8, 2018: Winners will read their work at the Laugh With Leacock evening

June 9, 2018: Presentation of Student Award to the winner at the Gala Dinner

Criteria for 2018 Competition

Inquiries may be made by email to Christine Spear, Registrar - Student Awards, at studentawards@leacock.ca.

How the Student Competition is judged

To make judging as fair as possible, all entries are judged blind. Entries are opened on arrival in Orillia by a disinterested party who removes the cover page and assigns a number to the entry. The number is placed in a register, along with the student’s name and school, and the numbered entry is then passed to the committee. The register is not returned to the committee until the judging is complete.

We have three judges (they change every two years or so), who are all published authors. Many over the years have been winners of, or short-listed for, the Leacock Medal for Humour.

The judges rank and assess each work according to merit criteria, and the highest ranked three are considered winners.

Teaching Resource:

An excellent module for the post-secondary teaching of humour is available FREE from Stephen Leacock Associates.  

Download here.

(You will need Adobe Reader to display the contents)


Previous Student Competitions:

2017 Student Award Winners


Winning Essays, 2017:

The Name Game, by Ben Wrixon, Winner, 2017

Shocking Discovery: The Elusive Elderly Teenager by Lauren Radigan, Second Place, 2017

The Hair King Experience, by Narayan Subramoniam, Third Place, 2017


Winning Essays, 2016:

Orange to the Thigh, by Ben Wrixon, Second Place, 2016