Latest News!

Stephen Leacock Associates' 2017 Annual General Meeting

The Stephen Leacock Associates Board of Directors has established Sunday, November 12, 2017, at 4:00 pm as the date and time of this year's AGM, which will be held at:
149 Peter St N, Orillia, ON L3V 4Z4. 
All members in good standing may attend and vote.  For more information on the AGM, or to become a member, please contact us at

October 15, 2017

Submissions for the 2018 student humorous essay contest are now being accepted

A call for submissions has been sent out to Ontario secondary school principals to encourage their students to enter this exciting competition.  For details on how to enter an essay, please see our Student Awards page.

October 4, 2017

Submissions for the 2018 Leacock Medal are now being accepted

For details on how to enter a book for the 2018 Leacock Medal, please see our Leacock Medal submissions page.

September 18, 2017

Additional Literary Judge Recruited in Quebec

Thanks to all who showed interest in the recent opening for a Quebec-based literary judge to join our national team.

The position has been successfully filled.

August 2, 2017

Gary Barwin wins 2017 Leacock Medal

Gary BarwinPhoto credit Adela Talbot.

Gary Barwin, of Hamilton, Ontario, has won this year’s Stephen Leacock Medal for Canadian Humour and a $15,000 prize for his acclaimed book, Yiddish for Piratespublished by Random House Canada.

The winner was announced by Nathan Taylor, president of awarding body Stephen Leacock Associates, in front of an audience of around 190 at a 70th-anniversary gala dinner award ceremony near Orillia, Ontario, that was attended by no fewer than ten previous winners of the medal.

Barwin’s family was there to see him receive the prestigious Medal. He becomes the 70th winner in the history of the long-running award.  There was no award given in 1959.

Both other finalists, Amy Jones for We’re All in This Together, McClelland & Stewart, and Drew Hayden Taylor for Take Us to Your Chief And Other Stories, Douglas & McIntyre, received cash awards for achieving the shortlist.

A Canada-wide panel of readers and judges had narrowed 68 initial submissions to form a longlist of 11 highly recommended works, with only three books eventually forming the shortlist.

Click here to read Gary's acceptance speech.

June 10, 2017

2017 Shortlist Announced

The Board of Directors of Stephen Leacock Associates has announced its shortlist for the 2017 Anniversary Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour award. The top three picks have been narrowed down from a longlist of 11 out of a field of 68 entries:

In alphabetical order by author surname:

The final winner, who also receives a $15,000 prize supported by TD Bank Financial Group, is to be announced on Saturday, June 10, 2017, at a gala award dinner at Geneva Park Conference Centre, just outside Orillia, Ontario. The gala dinner is open to the public, and limited tickets are available exclusively through the Stephen Leacock Museum in Orillia. See you there!

May 3, 2017


Follow us on Facebook!

Follow us on Twitter!

Welcome to our New Website!

This website departs from the blog format that we have been using for the past several years, so those people who have been receiving automatic notifications of new posts will no longer receive them.  We suggest that if you wish to follow our activities, you should do so through our Facebook and Twitter pages, using their automatic notification features.